Thursday, May 7, 2015

How To Tweak Your Facebook Privacy Settings By Viewing Your Timeline & Profile As Others See It

Facebook is undoubtedly the largest Social Network in the world. Some 1.4 billion users pen an update at least once every few weeks. We often see news stories concerning Facebook Privacy issues. Is it possible to maintain a modicum of privacy and continue using Facebook? There are a myriad of, admittedly confusing, security & privacy settings, that will allow you to establish an appropriate comfort level. Unfortunately, it is often difficult to access the results of your changes and tweaks. Facebook does provide the ability to monitor your adjustments, but it is not easy to find. All you have to do is view your Timeline and Profile as others (friends, public, etc.) see it, and calibrate as needed. Here's how you do it.

  1. Login to your Facebook account via a web browser - rather than a mobile app. Tap on your name to go to your Timeline.
  2. Tap on the Down Arrow in the upper right-hand corner of the window.
  3. Click on Settings.
  4. Tap the Timeline and Tagging link in the left-hand column.
  5. Find the section labeled "Who can see things on my timeline?" and click the View As link.
  6. Look for the black bar near the top of the page - it tells you who you are viewing your profile as. The default is "Public", but you can view it the same way a specific person would see it by clicking the View as Specific Person link and then entering the name of one of your friends.
  7. When you’re finished viewing your Timeline the way others see it - Tap the Home button.

After viewing your Profile, as the Public sees it, you may want to go back and make further adjustments to your Privacy Settings.